Help need advice

kimbe

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Son is 17 and having a hard time with the whole diabetes thing ,he was on the libre but he found it was giving very wrong readings now he hates it we were giving it on the NHS and self funded for a while now he wants to try the dexcom ,don't know what to do been in contact with hospital and was told he is in diabetic burnout no idea so all advice would be great xxxworried mum

Reactions: Bon83

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
Please wait on, it has been a lovely day and the forum has been quite quiet but I am sure that parents of those with T1 and those who remember well what it is like to go through burnout will answer and offer support very soon. I wish I could help but I have no experience with this but I do know that being 17 is a hard enough time of life for anyone without the stresses and strains of diagnosis. I wish you both the very best of luck.

Reactions: Brunneria

Scott-C

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi, @kimbe , yes, burnout can be an issue with teenagers - teens want to be masters of their universe, and they get annoyed when things like unpredictable T1 takes that sense of control away from them.

How to give that sense of control back? Difficult question.

Sometimes just getting older does it. I was dx'd at 21, am now 52, things which would have annoyed me at 21 are now just, meh, whatever.

None of us have perfect control, maybe you could try to steer him into looking more at the time he is in range, which can be surprisingly high and gives reassurance, and looking at the out of range times as learning opportunities to figure out why that happened so it'll pan out better next time - there's lots of books about this which I'll mention shortly.