jahmoo

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Horrible People
Hi Guys and Gals,

Introductions done and I know this has been spoken about over the years, as of the search I did on it, but thought it would be quicker asking the question, rather than reading through hundreds of Threads :D

I do not do this and only reason why asking is because my Doc mentioned a weeks course on, only end of last year.

I remember the day when the doc said Carbs was the must in my diet, but that reason alone is why I'm quite a big guy, they did not say anything about too many Carbs :wink:

I am looking for a crash lesson on Carb Counting, I am missing out carbs as much as possible, but would like to have a plan, if you know what I mean :)

Web site, or Information, please help. Thanks!

theblokefromstoke

Dislikes
Pizza (makes my BG go through the roof), Pasta & potatoes.
Hi Jahmoo,

I've been counting the carbs for the past 12 months and i've got my BG's right under control and managed to lose around 5 1/2 stone along the way.

I'm type 2 and find that around 50 grams per day is ideal for me - if I have more than 70 grams my BG starts to spiral out of control. My big carb intake comes from 2 slices of burgen soya and linsead bread - I have 1 slice at breakfast and 1 at lunch. This gives me around 18grams alone. The rest is from peppers, tomato's, salad and some veg - very few root veg though. I eat fish and chicken mainly but do have red meats once or twice a week.

Potato's, pasta, pastry and curries appear to be a 'no go' for me as my BG rockets and I feel awful. I was advised by some of the kind members on this forum to the collins little gem book of carbs. I got mine from WH Smith, I think it was around £3.00.

The book is now my Bible and everything I shove in my mouth is noted in my diary with calories and carbs totted up through the day. I try and stick to around 2200 cals per day also.