How about being "in the zone"?

mrtn.pllr

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Do you know that special kind of feeling, the "flow" when you are so preoccupied with an activity (be it work, gaming, or really anything) that you don't pay attention to the passage of time? When your ego starts to become one with that special kind of activity and you are so much in the zone?
I know that, and I love it. That's really something that makes living my life worth it.
What will happen to that feeling with my T1 diabetes? How can I burry myself into an activity for hours/days without stopping if I have to eat and dose and check BG? Does this mean the end of just sitting down for 10 hours straight and coding (I'm a programmer :) ) or gaming or marathoning the Lord of the rings trilogy?
I can't imagine getting into the zone with these strict and regular painful ceremonies. But then the question rises. Why should I keep myself alive if I can't have these moments anymore?

Reactions: Schmoukes

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
The last time we marathoned lord of the rings we (of necessity) had multiple breaks - toilet, food, receiving a phone call, etc.etc.
These are unavoidable aspects of life.
Similarly, nowadays I have a necessity to get up and move around every hour or so to keep my joints oiled.
There are many other health conditions that require maintenance throughout the day, and multiple conditions lead to multiple, sometimes conflicting, maintenance requirements.
None of those are necessarily anything to do with diabetes.

So while diabetes adds to that kind of necessary interruption, it is not unique in its necessity or its ability to distract, and can be fitted in with all the other trivial detritus that we get to deal with on a daily basis.

Shannon27

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin