Humulin R500 And 640g

Adamuk1001

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi all
Can I ask if anyone else is using Humulin R500 in a pump ?
I've been told that the insulin can no longer be supplied for use in pump as some pet have overdosed .
I don't know how they have done it cos I've been using the insulin and pump combination for over 6 years now. For some reason my body will not accept R500 in pen form and my consultant won't supply me R500 in pens and allow me to transfer it from pen to vials for use in pump.
What can I do ? Please anyone.

Seacrow

Type of diabetes
LADA
Yep, I am. The manufacturer has decided not to produce r500 in vials in case it is mistaken for a u100 insulin. The pens dial up the actual insulin dose so are thought to be safer.

I experimented and showed my consultant I could transfer directly from the pen to the pump reservoir (640g). He says he can't tell me to do that because it's not recommended, but he's happy to prescribe the r500 pens so I can stay on the pump. (Conveniently, 1 pen = 1 pump reservoir in volume.)

Transferring from a pen to a vial to the pump is 'forbidden' because the extra stage allows the possibility of contamination, or so the nhs guidelines say.

If your consultant is unhappy because no one else is doing this, you can tell him there are at least two more that I know of.

Reactions: Struma

kitedoc

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
black jelly beans
In Oz I have been transferring from pen to syringe/reservoir for 6 1/2 years - no problem.
I am using U100 insulin but the issue is similar regards the method. ?
Are they worried about rubber cap particles ?
The syringe/cartridge has a draw-up needle with it so I do not see the problem.

Seacrow

Type of diabetes
LADA