Injecting into back of arm?

wildtoast

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
This is probably a really stupid question but how do people inject into the back of their arms? I'm new to this (diagnosed T1 just shy of 2 weeks ago) and was told to pinch the skin before injecting - but clearly I can't do that AND hold the pen to inject. So do you just inject? I don't have a whole lot of fat on my arms, how can I be sure I'm not going to go into muscle?
I've been using my tummy and just switched to my thigh, been mostly fine so far but I've got one bruise on my tummy and one on my thigh - maybe my injection technique needs perfecting but it just got me thinking some more about rotating the sites and made me wonder about arms.

db89

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
It will depend on what needles you're using but I don't pinch (mine are 4mm).
Back of the upper arms only are suitable as that's the fatty area.

wildtoast

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
It will depend on what needles you're using but I don't pinch (mine are 4mm).
Back of the upper arms only are suitable as that's the fatty area.
Oops I meant to say in my original post I've got the BD Viva 4mm needles. So you don't pinch at any site?

db89

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Mine aren't the Viva but are made by BD. Nope, I just find a site and jab it in! Not ruling out the possibility I'm maybe just a bit of a masochist when it comes to injecting.

D

Deleted Account

I was always told to pinch as, like you, I have little fat.
I never managed to find a way to pinch and inject in the back of my arm. When I asked how to do it, it was suggested I may be able to wedge my arm up against a chair instead of punching. Never managed that either.