Interesting test results after eating out

NeilHewitt

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Most things in life that are 'good for you', rude people and carrots. Especially carrots.
Hi all.

I'm still pretty new to the whole Type 2 thing, and I'm starting to work out what my reactions to different meals are using the usual 'test, eat, wait 2 hours and test again' routine, and I've had some interesting results.

Specifically, over the weekend I decided to go to Nandos (which is very close to my favourite thing) and in the interests of greater understanding (and definitely not self-indulgence) I had my usual pre-diagnosis meal - chicken thighs, fries and spicy rice. I know, potatoes and rice? And I believe it starts out as white rice, too - it's yellow by the time you get to eat it. The fries are just that, deep-fried.

Reading before eating (and this was fasting, too, as I didn't have breakfast that day): 6.2. Higher than you'd like, obviously, but it's early days for me and I've only lost 2kg so far. Reading 2 hours after eating: 7.1 So, I had fried potatoes and white rice (and not small portions of either) and my BG only went up 0.9? I checked again 2 hours after that just in case it was a late spike and that one came out at 6.0.

Now: I know the meters we can buy are not necessarily super-accurate, but unless the reading was wildly inaccurate this suggests to me that my body was reasonably OK with that carb load. Which seems... optimistic.

Any thoughts?

Aside from this I've been pretty good about sticking to low-carb-high-fat and have been seeing fasting numbers hovering around 6.0 and post-meal numbers around 7.0 most of the time. I'm on 2g Metformin per day as 2 x 2 x 500mg, but this isn't supposed to do that much for your post-meal BG numbers, as I understand it.

Not looking for an excuse to eat loads of carbs (honest), but I'm really surprised by these results.

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only