Link between losing weight and needing less insulin?

Dee26eed

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi it's my first post in a very long time. A bit of a back story, I got diagnosed as Type 1 when I was 28. Now 32. In that time I have lost a staggering 10 stone, becoming close to being underweight now. I'm still learning how to deal with diabetes especially after the pandemic has ceased any medical help I was getting from the diabetic team at the hospital. I'm finding now I'm very sensitive to insulin, I don't eat as much as I used to and due to other medications I've lost my appetite. Skipping meals and hardly eating when I do eat. My BG sits around 9/10 everyday, I find I'm only taking my basal dose of 20 units daily. I'm concerned that if I take insulin for when I eat it'll go too low. Has anyone else found they need little to no insulin after losing weight?

Hi it's my first post in a very long time. A bit of a back story, I got diagnosed as Type 1 when I was 28. Now 32. In that time I have lost a staggering 10 stone, becoming close to being underweight now. I'm still learning how to deal with diabetes especially after the pandemic has ceased any medical help I was getting from the diabetic team at the hospital. I'm finding now I'm very sensitive to insulin, I don't eat as much as I used to and due to other medications I've lost my appetite. Skipping meals and hardly eating when I do eat. My BG sits around 9/10 everyday, I find I'm only taking my basal dose of 20 units daily. I'm concerned that if I take insulin for when I eat it'll go too low. Has anyone else found they need little to no insulin after losing weight?

Hi Dee26eed!
So there definitely is a link with difficulty loosing weight if you take lots of insulin for some people as it connects with insulin resistance and hunger.
With then requiring less insulin when loosing weight.