Low Carb and exercise

Ehlana

Guys need some advice please.

I have been sticking to a low GI diet for the past 4 - 5 years with success, I have managed to lose 5 stone and get my BS down to 5 - 6. I'm a type 2 with PCOS on Metformin so losing weight has always been a struggle.

12 months ago I started running and weight training seriously - I am now at 20 miles a week running and weight training twice a week minimum. I have another 2 stone to lose and was considering trying low carb. However, I can find no information for low carb diets for people that exercise! Do I have to increase the number of carbs I eat when I run and by how much? I have tried to go down to 50g a day but it just leaves me very weak and unable to run.

Would appreciate any information on this please as its new territory for me.

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
I'm sure that Benstein has writen on this subject, so try his book "Dr. Bernstein's diabetes Solution.
I'm also pretty sure that I've seen a low carb athletes website quoted somewhere.Google should find it.
I don't do anything like as much exercise as you, but it does add up to several hours per week of gym, swimming pool and walking.( nowadays often pushing a buggy)
I'm pretty low carb( 20 - 30 per day) and haven't found this a problem. I use Metformn only and it doesn't cause me any trouble. I too have another 2 stones to lose and need to up my exercise to get there. ( difficult at 62, and a stroke survivor. My co-ordination is useless.)
I just looked at my "Bernstein" and exercise is mentioned in seveal places, just not all together.
Good Luck
Yoiu'll make it work
Hana

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
Ehlana said:
Guys need some advice please.