Low Carb

Lainie71

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
The term "big boned" lol repeatedly told this growing up!
So I am just wondering, on the lchf diet which I do follow, but could someone clarify for me how many carbs etc I should be aiming for on an average day? I Know I need to up my protein when I exercise but for the first time I have been counting my carbs and it looks like I should be aiming for 20 -50 grms? Also do I count the carbs and the sugars together or just the carbs. You would think I would know this by now but guess I am still learning :banghead:

Reactions: saky

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Some aim for less than 20 grams of carbs a day, some for over 100.
The only way to find out what works for you is to test before and after meals to see how many you can handle.

Also do I count the carbs and the sugars together or just the carbs.
You only count the carbs. The label says 'of which sugars', so they're already in the carb count.

Lainie71

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Some aim for less than 20 grams of carbs a day, some for over 100.
The only way to find out what works for you is to test before and after meals to see how many you can handle.

You only count the carbs. The label says 'of which sugars', so they're already in the carb count.
Thanks so much for that, looks like I have been going at about 30 odd carbs a day so I will see how it goes x x

Reactions: Antje77

HSSS

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Also do I count the carbs and the sugars together or just the carbs.
Sugar is part of the carb count. You can consider it a subset of carbs so - No, don’t count it twice.

on a uk label/recipe just look at the carbs number. Ignore the rest.