Low readings and insulin

vespa

Hi all,

I am quite new to this since I was diagnosed type 1 about 6 weeks ago, so I am still learning and I do have a question if anyone with experience can advise me in.

The first week I was high averaging 15.0 peaked at 20.0 once, since then I have come down a great deal and is levelling off 90 % of the time, now I am occasionally dipping to 3.8 one or twice a week, I don't feel any hypo and do eat brown bread to carb up to compensate, I was wondering if I should tweak back on insulin to increase sugar level so that it doesn't go too low ? or other ways of ensuring an even sugar level preferably at 5.0.

One other question if I tweak back, will the sugar will still be utilised or will it will build up or just gets washed away in urine ?

I need to stabilise it if I want to be able to get my C and D driving entitlement back, I think they need to be around 5.0 mmol/l

I am on Novomix 30 using 18 morning usually around 8am-9am and 12 units 5pm-6pm, injecting twice daily.

Any suggestions please, Thanks.

AMBrennan

Depends - when do you get low BG? After certain meals? If so then you should eat a bit more at those times. Otherwise, you will have to reduce the insulin doses - on mixed insulins you will have to adjust your meals based on your basal requirements.
One other question if I tweak back, will the sugar will still be utilised or will it will build up or just gets washed away in urine ?
Glucose starts spilling into urine when BG is greater than 10ish mmol/l. And if you take less insulin you are, basically, leaving a bit more glucose in the blood stream where it can be used by your brain (else neurological impairment) rather than moving it into fat/muscle cells - like keeping an extra £10 in your wallet maybe?

smidge

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hey Vespa!