Medtronic 640G and Libre

Kamilosxdman

Type of diabetes
Type 1
hello. I'm going to start my 640G next month. It will be my first pump ever and I'm very excited. I've been self-funding freestyle libre for about 11 months now and I was wondering if anyone has experience in using libre and 640g or any other pump ? Any tips, advice would be very useful. Also I'm considering switching to enlite sensors in the future to use safeguard feature. ( can't do it with the pump next month as Medtronic has some production difficulties and they don't accept new customer until new year apparently) So I will be using libre with 640g and libre and I want some views and suggestions. Thanks

eabhamurphy

Hi there! I use the 640g and a libre. I've self funded the libre for years now (maybe 3 or 4!) I've kept it going while using the 640g. I don't use the libre results to input for any bolus doses but it does help with identify trends and basal settings and also helps with knowing if my ratios are right etc.
The enlite I will qualify for pregnancy if I have another child so I will hold off self funding that until after my next pregnancy if I decide it's worth carrying on with as it's twice the price of the libre.
Its so much easier to get nice flat-ish profile and I have much more energy. I feels the link up with the enlite will really benefit me if I have another pregnancy as my hypo awareness and blood sugars were all over the place! Now I find it ok, I've got pretty good readings, eat similar amounts each day do the added benefit of the enlite isn't currently there for me to justify the cost! I will keep the libre going though. Having said that, my sugars are so so much more stable now that whereas pre pump going without a libre was inconceivable for me, I would now be ok with it if I had to be.
I'm not sure I've given much useful info but do ask me anything you want to know. I just got my pump on June 15th! It is super exciting! I remember it like a birthday date!
Eva