metmorfin and alcohol

thistory

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello everyone,
I am 21 years old and i have been using glifor 1000mg(metmorfin) twice a day for 4 months. And i didn't drink alcohol since i started it because of the possible side effects. But next week i will have an event which is going to be one of the most important days in my life. And i am planning to drink alcohol. So what happens if i quit my medicine like for 1 day, drink alcohol that night and then continue to use it again ? I know it is important to use these kind of medicines regularly but i really would like to enjoy this day too. And how long should i wait to drink alcohol, hours, 1 day or maybe more ? I will be so glad if i will receive some advices. Thank you so much !!

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
What are your levels like without alchohol?

I don't know personally whether that drug has interactions with alchohol.. But hopefully bumping up for you so that someone with experience can offer advice..

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

semiphonic

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Ignorant people, diabetes!
Hi, I'm not medically qualified so this is just my opinion, I also take 1000mg of metformin twice a day, I also drink alcohol on a Friday night (sometimes a Saturday too!). I don't stop taking the metformin when I'm going to have a drink and I've had no side effects yet that I'm aware of.

2131tom

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi. With the caveat that I'm not medically qualified, either (but I am on 1g Metformin a day), I drink alcohol two or three times a week. My GP's not offered me any advice about not drinking and I've not had any symptoms that I'm aware of, from doing so.