Morning BS Reading

gilbertsweet

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Good morning, my fasting BS is 7.7. I'm trying to keep it below 7 or even 6. My HbA1c used to be at 5.4 but now my last one was 6.4. It's creeping up.

I introduce myself. I'm T2 diabetic for the last 12 years. Medicated on long-acting Metformin (500mg, twice a day). Married with 3 teenaged children. A Singaporean. I work as a mental health practitioner in a rehab setting. Enjoying it in terms of self-understanding and developing and cultivating skills to attend to myself and others under my care. Works wonders for me!

Last edited by a moderator:

Prem51

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Hi @gilbertsweet and welcome to the forum. The National Health Service here in the UK also tells diabetics to take metafornin to counter their diabetes and to continue eating carbohydrates. Carbs turn to sugars in our bodies so T2s usually just get worse needing more meds and ultimately probably needing insulin. It is now considered by some doctors as an outdated and wrong treatment.
On this forum many of us T2s have found that adopting a Low Carbohydrate High Fat (LCHF) approach to eating has reduced our blood sugar levels. This means apart from cutting out sugars we avoid or reduce, as much as possible, starchy carbs like rice, noodles, potatoes, bread and pasta, and eat more healthy fats like dairy products, avocadoes, nuts and oily fish, and proteins - eggs, meat and pulses are good,
Exercise can also help to reduce bs levels.
Have a read round the threads to see how this works and ask any questions you want, the people on here are friendly and supportive.

Mep

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin