Neuropathy Assistance

Type of diabetes
Prefer not to say
Treatment type
Diet only
I am very new to all of this and think I am getting Neuropathy Symptoms (tingling and numbness) , especially last night in bed. Is there anything that reduces this, or i can do to ease it, as it is very unsettling. Can it improve or completely reduce if i do certain things to aid this feeling? Thanks for your assistance in advance.

catinahat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Reality tv
The usual advice for people suffering with neuropathy is to avoid high blood sugar levels but as your recent HbA1c results were normal, that is unlikely to be the cause of your symptoms. Perhaps another visit to your Dr is your best option

TriciaWs

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Even if your HbAc is in range you could be having spikes hidden by low BS the rest of the time, if you aren't testing regularly I suggest you test before and after meals for a while to check what is going on.
Other causes of nerve damage include low folate levels, treated by adding more greens or taking folic acid tablets. This was what caused my nerve damage before I had diabetes - my GP failed to test for it even when I explained my symptoms and when other blood tests indicated I might have this form of anaemia (enlarged red blood cells).

sunspots

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
If you have prediabetes, and I think I remember you having that, then you will not have diabetic neuropathy. You do seem very anxious though. Is that something you could discuss with your doctor? Anxiety can cause very many physical symptoms, including tingling and numbness.

M

Member496333

If you have prediabetes, and I think I remember you having that, then you will not have diabetic neuropathy.