New - Pre diagnosis

jolo71

hi, I’m new to this and need some advice... I recently had health test at work that indicated blood sugar 17 so told to go to GP.
First visit - not very helpful or sympathetic nurse practitioner who gave no info support just sent for blood test.
Called for blood results - incompetent receptionist said - ‘oh yes results are high ,it’s pribaby due to you change in diabetes medication.... well this sent me into spiralling panic as I have not had a diagnosis yet!!!!
When I regained my calm she sent me for 2nd blood test and promised GP telephone call fo tomorrow.
My head is spinning and I am panicking and feeling very stressed about the whole situation - any advice?

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
Hello and welcome to the forum. Tagging @daisy1 for the info pack offered to all newcomers.

It is not much help but you must just wait for the result of the second blood draw as this confirms/refutes diagnosis. If the diagnosis is confirmed you should be given an appointment to see a nurse or your GP. Then you will know how things stand. Please ask the actual results (do not be satisfied with 'It's high') and if you can view your results online you can post them here for advice and guidance. If you have not signed up to view your online records then you can request a print out of test results at your surgery.

Have a wander around the forum and ask as many questions as you like. Try not to worry, you've come to the right place for support. Best wishes.

Reactions: Prem51 and jolo71

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello, @jolo71 , another welcome to the forum!
Well, that was a particular nasty way to receive a diagnosis, provided your second test will say the same.
I'll keep my fingers crossed for the GP telephone call going a lot better tomorrow.