Newbie: My endocrine system is a bit of a mess

Chez31

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Hi,
Im new here. A month ago I was told by the gp's receptionist (!) that amongst a whole raft of blood tests for an unrelated medical issue my doc had done a week or two previously that I had an abnormal Hbc1a result of 6%. I was on holiday at the time . When I arrived home a letter was on the door mat saying I was high risk for developing diabetes and I should join the "Healthy You" program. Quite a shock to come home to. Its taken a month to get an appt with the nurse to talk to anyone at the surgery about it .Not good enough really , and I did tell them it wasn't the nicest way to find out!.
Anyway, as Im a pro-active type of person I got myself genned up pretty much myself instead while I waited and reading this site has been a great help in introducing me to the baffling ins and outs of the blood sugar club! Ive got myself a bg meter and have cut down on my carbs . Currently getting good readings in normal range and now doing test meals where I am eating a variety of carbs to see how i respond.