Newly diagnosed Type 1/DKA

Babsi

Hello, diagnosed 4 weeks ago with type 1 diabetes after being hospitalised with DKA.
I think I'm in the honeymoon phase, insulin doses have been reduced twice due to bloods being low and a bit all over the place. I've started using the freestyle libre sensor, just wandered what others who use it think of it?

mandedog

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Babsi. Welcome to the club we didn’t ask to join! I am a relative newbie having only been diagnosed 9 months ago with a DKA that landed me in hospital. I think I might still be in the honeymoon period as my insulin needs are gradually increasing.
I have used Freestyle Libre since week 2 and am so glad that I do not have to do continual fingerpricks. I do one first thing every morning and then after that only if my readings are high- above 15- or low- below 4. The Libre is not always accurate with low and high numbers so best to be sure. I have not had any problems with adhesive and have only had one sensor give up after 12days instead of 14 . I am in Canada so not sure if UK still has the 10 day Libre?

I found that I was checking way too much at the start and became fixated on the numbers. I have gradually gained confidence and do not need to check quite so much. I tend to use my iPhone rather than the monitor it comes with. I found that if you use both, you can only download the results from your phone which I then send to my diabetes team when I have an appointment.
Let me know if I can help with anything else and good luck as you start out!

Faten988

Type of diabetes
Researcher
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Any number below 4 or above 14, you have check blood glucose by using finger pricks. But anyway, it will make a Beep sounds as alert, so you have to make sure the accurate number by using glucose meter.

UK T1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin