Omnipod

glavesr

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Getting omnipod in January looking for advice and opinions as it's my first time using any sort of pump

Reactions: himtoo

himtoo

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
mean people , gardening , dishonest people , and war.
why can't everyone get on........
hi @glavesr
great news for you !!
I have been using the omnipod for 26 months and I love it !!
It is the only pump I have used so cannot offer any comparisons.

I like the fact I can wear it in the shower or for swimming. I like the fact it is tubeless.
it is pretty small and the PDM ( the handheld controller for the pump ) is really easy to use.

I don't like the fact that it is a fixed 72 hour pod change.
I tend to aim for a pod change at around 9am every three days -- but sometimes that is not a totally convenient time for me -- so I need to change earlier - which in turn means the following change has to be done at that earlier time. ( if that makes sense )

and on the odd occasion I am going on holiday that coincides with a pod change day I end up changing the night before as I don't really want to do a change sitting in terminal 1 of manchester airport at 8am -- LOL

for me it has really helped smooth my BG readings
My HbA1c has increased since starting on a pump
( pre pumping days was always 5.9% to 6.1% ) now on pump i am getting 6.5% - 6.6% but far fewer hypos and hypers
so a win win for me.

hope this helps !!
tagging @catapillar as she uses an omnipod too !!

glavesr

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Thank you
I'm going to be getting the as transition from pen to pump if I can get along with the omnipod then my consultant will swap me to a pump but who knows I may like the pods and decide to keep them

Reactions: himtoo
D

Deleted Account

Thank you