Plan 'B' for pump issues?

Shiba Park

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi All,

I'm new to pumping and generally finding it very liberating, but how should I equip myself for when things go wrong? I appreciate that having no basal in my system means that any insulin delivery problems can get serious quite quickly, so what do people typically carry with them? Replacement canulas/infusion sets, inserters and spare batteries are a given, but what about pens etc? Ketone monitor? Basically I'm looking for people's views on a sensible balance between bulk/weight and safety...

Thanks for any and all views!

Shiba.

dancer

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
When away from home for over an hour, I take my emergency kit with me. This contains cannula, reservoir, batteries, Fiasp pen, needles, test kit and hypo treatment. I have never needed the reservoir but have needed cannulas and batteries.

iHs

If I was working, then I would leave a spare set with tube plus cartridge in my desk drawer or locker. I would also try to store a vialof iinsulin in a fridge if possible and then it wouldn't really matter how long the vial was in the fridge for because it would only be taken out to drawer up a cartridge of insulin for the pump if need be.
I always carry a small amount of bolus insulin in a pen and just refill the glass cartridge with about 25u of bolus per month and use that when things go wrong. After 8yrs of having a pump, I haven't had a infection or had a problem that I wasn't able to take care of in a common sense way.

himtoo

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
mean people , gardening , dishonest people , and war.
why can't everyone get on........
whenever i leave the house i always carry a spare pod ( omnipod ) , a vial of insulin , bolus and basal pens , spare needles , lancets , sweets., and test strips

if going away overnight add to that a spare BG meter..............

Angusc

Type of diabetes
Type 1