1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2019 »
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Plan 'B' for pump issues?

Discussion in 'Insulin Pump Forum' started by Shiba Park, May 27, 2018.

1. Shiba Park

Shiba Park Type 1 · Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I'm new to pumping and generally finding it very liberating, but how should I equip myself for when things go wrong? I appreciate that having no basal in my system means that any insulin delivery problems can get serious quite quickly, so what do people typically carry with them? Replacement canulas/infusion sets, inserters and spare batteries are a given, but what about pens etc? Ketone monitor? Basically I'm looking for people's views on a sensible balance between bulk/weight and safety...

Thanks for any and all views!

Shiba.

2. dancer

dancer Type 1 · Well-Known Member

When away from home for over an hour, I take my emergency kit with me. This contains cannula, reservoir, batteries, Fiasp pen, needles, test kit and hypo treatment. I have never needed the reservoir but have needed cannulas and batteries.

3. iHs

iHs · Well-Known Member

If I was working, then I would leave a spare set with tube plus cartridge in my desk drawer or locker. I would also try to store a vialof iinsulin in a fridge if possible and then it wouldn't really matter how long the vial was in the fridge for because it would only be taken out to drawer up a cartridge of insulin for the pump if need be.