please help my poor father!

Hi experts,

my father got Type 2 diabetes in his 30's, and he is 48 now. he couldn't see things clearly, and has a high level of blood sugar.
i am an overseas student in UK. i really wish i could help him! could you suggest any medecine, that might be very helpful? i also saw him taking some medicine for protecting his kidney, maybe you could also give me some suggestions about medecine that can protect his kidney?

thanks very much!

Qian

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
Welcome to the forum,Qian.The best way for your father to reduce his blood sugar levels is to reduce the amount of carbohydrate that he eats.Can you give us some idea of what he eats so that we can make some suggestions?

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
I agree wih Sue reducing sugar and starch in the diet is the simplest way of getting blood sugar down. It has the added advantage of not needing medicine, so no side effects. that means, cut out sugara and severely reduce rice, pasta, bread and white roots.

thanks very much for both of you guys!
but he is really very careful about his diet. he never eat bread, and anything that tastes sweet. but still... we are very despressed about this...

Jenny

Given the name suggests a Chinese origin I don't think western dietary advice would be particularly helpful.

Trinkwasser

Dropping the carbs in his diet and trying to ensure he gets plenty of exercise should help.

Metformin is usually #1 medicine for reducing insulin resistance, and ACE or ARB inhibitors are used for blood pressure reduction but also have kidney protective benefits

HOWEVER

all these medications are prescription only for a reason, they may also have side effects or otherwise be unsuitable.