Pre diabetes

caroll54

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
hi everyone, I'm new to this I have CKD and have 3 monthly blood tests , I was feeling tired thought maybe low in vitamins, the tested my glucose, I never heard anything until about 3 weeks later when my dr surgery sent a letter asking me if I would be interested in joining healthier you NHS diabetes program, I called and signed up just waiting for appointment, im not overweight, I have already put myself on a renal diet to help , now I'm worried that this might be a problem with the pre diabetes, ant advice would be great . Thanks

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
With a renal diet, low protein is recommended and with a diabetes friendly diet low carbohydrates are recommended. There only seems to be fruit and veg left and only then if it is low in potassium.

The good news is that you don't have to go no protein so a reduced amount could be OK. For diabetes the same really applies to carbs where you don't have to go no carbohydrates and anyway we don't know the extent of your diabetes yet so low GI carbs or fewer total carbs are certainly an option.

I am sorry to hear of your problems. Perhaps you could come back here when you know the diabetes involvement.

caroll54

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Thanks for your reply , I went vegetarian a few years ago , so I get lots of vegetables, yes your right about the renal diet , so yes I will go for lower carbs , thanks for that , hopefully when I get appointment I will know a bit more and post on here .

Growyourflow