Pre type 2 diabetes/ blurry vision and menopause!

Jen 2

Hello, I am very new to this and very confused! For a while now I have experienced blurry vision on and off..a visit to the optician led me to a visit to the doctor where I had a blood test which concluded I am pre diabetes.
I have had some good advice from a friend in the know and I am addressing my diet and will be having a one to one on the NHS at the end of the month prior to starting the pre diabetes programme so I am feeling positive about all that.
I have been doing a lot of reading on the subject and a big concern to me has been the realisation that my lack of quality sleep due to hot flushes over the past few years can actually have been a trigger for my increase in blood sugar levels. Also depending on which article I read it sounds like my hot flushes could be a symptom of my sugar being high not the menopause!!
Totally confused here so it would be greatly appreciated if anyone who has/or is experiencing the same could give me some advice please.
Blurry vision as I type this

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Hi Jen,
Yes blurry vision is common with diabetes if blood sugars are not controlled.
You’ll need to ask the doc about the symptoms to establish if menopause/diabetes but if you are of an age to be expecting menopause then that seems likely.

Jen 2

Hi Jen,
Yes blurry vision is common with diabetes if blood sugars are not controlled.
You’ll need to ask the doc about the symptoms to establish if menopause/diabetes but if you are of an age to be expecting menopause then that seems likely.