Readings...

maxjoe121

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi. Just wanted to ask. I'm still getting to grips with my meter readings as I'm a newbie. Is 7.3 2 hours after food ok I'm type 2 .. what would it be if it was to high. I went onto the diabetes blood sugar checker and put that number in and it said normal but underneath it said it's classed as hypoglycemia with type 2

chalup

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
7.3 is not even in the same room as hypoglycemia which is being under 4. Two hours after eating you should be at or below your pre-meal reading. Your spike will happen around 1 hr but that is just approximate. If you were in the low 7's before your meal then that is a good number for you at 2 hours. Are you doing low carb or another diet? Remember it will take time for your numbers to come down overall and the less carbs you eat the faster it will happen.

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hmm, I think the blood sugar checker is wrong - it does say that 7.3 within two hours of eating for a female type 2 is classed as hypoglycaemia. This is wrong. 7.3 is not classed as hypo, for anyone, under 4 is hypo.

Reactions: 2 people

maxjoe121

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
7.3 is not even in the same room as hypoglycemia which is being under 4. Two hours after eating you should be at or below your pre-meal reading. Your spike will happen around 1 hr but that is just approximate. If you were in the low 7's before your meal then that is a good number for you at 2 hours. Are you doing low carb or another diet? Remember it will take time for your numbers to come down overall and the less carbs you eat the faster it will happen.
I was 6.5 before my meal... I thought it was strange for the checker to say that and it's on the diabetes UK website

maxjoe121

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only