Rising sugars

David Wass

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Every morning my sugars rise even though i have been flat all through the night in fact from when i got to bed to when i wake up it has dropped by 1.5 to 2 as in from 7 to 5 and so on but when i get out of bed my sugar levels rise to doubles sometimes. This seems to heca problem for me 6 out if 7 days a week. When i take a correction dose it does then stay flat ish once its kicked in. I have done testing during the night so i know my background is working fine plus tests in between meals which are ok. Help please!!!

delmcp

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
The rise is known as Dawn Phenomenon, and is the liver doing a glucose dump to kick the body into action from resting.

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
What @delmcp has said. @David Wass Dawn Phenomenon is usually enough to get you put on to a pump to resolve the issue. As you have a ton of data from the Libre demoing this, I'd have a discussion with your diabetic team about it.

Kristin251

Expert
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Many of us have to eat something even if it's just a hard boiled egg or a few nuts to stop this.
A few weeks ago I was doing an experiment backing up my bolus to find out when my insulin starts working at breakfast as I always get a spike around two hours. So I injected my normal bolus and tested every 10 min. By the time I finally ate because it wasn't coming down I had injected 3 extra times in 3 hours. Now I just eat something small with no carbs 15-20 min after I bolus and then I test after 2.5 hours and if I need a small correction bolus I take one and then the rest of the day is fine. The problem I have is 1/2 unit correction away from food drops me 30-40 so I can't always take one. Or I take one but eat something so I don't drop as much.