safe disposal of lances?

neil1945

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi - I am a newbie - only being diagnosed last week. I signed up on this site for a free meeter to test my blood readings to enable me to understand the effects of my diet better.

Now I will seem stupid - I know of sharps bins in hospitals and Doctors - Do I need on for the lances and if so how do I get one and how do i dispose of the bin??

axle 222

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to do what I would like to be able to do
Hi - I am a newbie - only being diagnosed last week. I signed up on this site for a free meeter to test my blood readings to enable me to understand the effects of my diet better.

Now I will seem stupid - I know of sharps bins in hospitals and Doctors - Do I need on for the lances and if so how do I get one and how do i dispose of the bin??
The yellow sharps bins generally come either from your gp or if under diabetic nurse,from her,or if under hospital team from them. Repeats are usually from g.p....... you are correct testing strips and finger prickers go into the box..you may get told testing strips don't have to and can be disposed of in household waste. But as they contain a small amount of blood I was told put into yellow sharps bin......drs have to pay to dispose of bins so they will want you to fill it right up to the line.......

ButtterflyLady

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Acceptance of health treatment claims that are not adequately supported by evidence. I dislike it when people sell ineffective and even harmful alternative health products to exploit the desperation of people with chronic illness.
In NZ we aren't given sharps bins (as far as I know, maybe T1s are). So made my own out of an old 1 litre yoghurt container. I cut a small hole in the lid. This is sometimes referred to as "kiwi ingenuity" ;)

Croc

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Sea filth!