So I'm new at this...

PDR

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Piers Morgan
I originally posted this stuff in my introduction post and it was suggested that I move it to here, so if anyone read it there please accept my apologies for the reptition. Please accept my apologies for the reptition.* This is what I originally said, although I've updated the graph:

A year or so ago my doctor advised me that I was slightly over the line for type 2 and put me on Metformin (500mg twice a day) and statins, largely because I am slightly overweight (only about 4-5 stones) and employ staff to take my exercise for me. A couple of weeks ago I had a review and the stats had gone mad, so I was given a testing kit. That gave me some data to play with, and like all engineers I just love playing with data, so out came the spreadsheet...

blood sugar.png

This showed I was way over the limits, averaging about 14mmol/l for the first few days. The chart above shows my learning journey. The early peaks included discoveries like the evils of watermelon (a hazardous substance which should require a prescription) and the way that bread is mostly carbs, so lunchtime sandwich or baggette is a stupid idea! Then couscous, then pasta (even wholemeal pasta) etc etc - I'm sure you've all been there. Last weekend I discovered the Lidl "Low GI Loaf" and had salad sandwiches for lunch. That's when I discovered that Lidl "Low GI Loaf" is just as carb-loaded as a brace of croissants, so that's now on the banned list as well.