Student Nurse with Diabetes Type 2

Vince_hacks

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi everyone, this is the first time I have ever posted on this forum, I usually just read other peoples top tips and advice, but sadly I am about to go into placement as a student nurse and with all the news and info from PHE about staying away from potential sources of infections. I am currently sat in my room at uni worried and overwhelmed by the thought of what could happen. I suppose I am just using this forum to vent and get my worries off my chest, but if I don’t I’m going to explode.

Anyway thanks for listening and sorry if I've wasted anyone’s time

Vince

Reactions: porl69

LooperCat

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
Hi and welcome - is your placement still going ahead? My uni have pulled all the healthcare students from placement this week (I’m a trainee paramedic), and I understand that was nationwide? We’ve all been put on study leave, until Easter in the first instance. Although we’ve just been asked if we’d be willing to work for the trust as call handlers and drivers.

Reactions: porl69

Vince_hacks

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hiya- Yeah ours is still going ahead. I’m a year 3 adult nurse and we’re also being offered the chance to be registered early. I think all of the nursing students at my uni are gonna be on placement fairly soon, some of the first years have already started.

LooperCat

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
Well, fwiw, it’s what we signed up for when we chose to become HCPs - that’s just my opinion though. Sick people are our trade :) As long as we have the correct PPE, we shouldn’t be at any greater risk than anyone else, but I do understand your fears. Is your diabetes under pretty good control?

Vince_hacks

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)