Toothache and T1

StaceyEmma

Hi guys and girls. So I’m still learning about being T1 and for the last few days I’ve had very little sleep due to excruciating pain through my teeth into my jaw and ear, can’t get into the dentist until Friday morning.
Doing all the usual stuff with pain relief with very limited success just makes me a bit drowsy and dulls the pain but I’m finding it difficult to remember to test and injection around meal times due to the pain. What can I do until I’ve been seen by the dentist?

kitedoc

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
black jelly beans
Hi @StaceyEmma,
Sorry to hear of your tooth woes!
Not sure what type of diabetes you have been diagnosed with, as this can influence what is suggested to you.
Tooth troubles are sometimes the bane of diabetes as the pain, inflammation etc do not do our bsls ( blood sugar levels) any favours.
It could be all sorts of things causing your pain and only your dentist can really diagnose it.
But if you develop a high temperature ( i was told more than 38 degrees C) or swelling it may be important to let the dentist to know between now and yourvappointment as sometimes an infection may make it difficult for you to be able to open your mouth sufficiently for dental work later, without an dose of antibiotic before hand ( at least that was advice given to me).
With tooth pain i tend to avoid cold or hot beverages and food that requires chewing or has to be crunched as these things may trigger more pain.
Are you measuring your bsls? If you can that will give you an idea of how the tooth troubles are impacting on them, but without further information on that front i am unable to suggest more.
As all do with tooth troubles i hope time passes quickly and your troubles are easily sorted.

WuTwo

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
People whose attitude says "Me, my opinion, my desire is greater and more important than anyone else"