Type 1 30 Years Having Serious Problems

Auckland Canary

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this board but I am desperately seeking advice. I have been Type 1 for over 30 years now. Generally throughout my life my control has been excellent. However in the last few years I have frequently lost my hypo warning signs. In the last 3 years I have had to be attended by paramedics 3 times (always when asleep) and last night I believe I almost died. I was having convulsions and my jaw was locked etc. Apparently I was unconscious for nearly an hour before being revived by paramedics.

The issue I am seeking assistance with is other people’s understanding of how long term Type 1 affects you psychologically. Obviously after these incidences I should be going straight to my healthcare team and doctors etc. However I generally find (and these are not isolated incidents) that I get patronised and told how to live my life and when and how I should be doing things. No one ever asks me how I am feeling about it or will consider my point of view.

I currently have tried to run my HBA1C’s at about 6-7% but have been told now that for me this is too low and I need to get them higher because of my hypo risk. However I am frightened that doing this will result in all of the unpleasant side effects of diabetes that, apart from some mild retinopathy, I have avoided. When I try and discuss this with people I just get told that I don’t need to worry. As I have maybe another 30 – 40 years of this how can I not be worried about this?

I currently live in New Zealand although I am British and will be returning to the UK to live in a few weeks. Here the law is that you lose your driving licence as soon as you have to have help with a hypo and I have already lost my licence for 2 3 month periods.