Understanding mmol/l

pb0706

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Afternoon

Recent newbie here after my wife @karenb1410 messaged asking for help and encouraged me to join the forum. After taking some advice I've drastically changed my diet and have already started to feel the benefits. More energy, better mood and even took part in my first 5k run.
I've drastically cut down on my carb intake and we are both following advice from DietDoctor and other suggested websites/cook books.
I started the new diet on Thursday 6th February and instantly seen a reduction in my mmol/l readings. Beforehand I was getting readings between 9.0 and 11.9 most days. These were taken first thing in the morning and 2 hours after meals.
Since the new way of eating I am getting readings between 6.3 & 7.5 after meals, but the readings I get most mornings are in my opinion still high and are between 9.0 and 10.5

I am due for my review at the end of the month. My DN said at my last review that my HBA1C has got to come down otherwise she was going to have to put me on another tablet. If I remember correctly my HBA1C was 63.
Obviously I don't want to be taking another tablet, my ultimate aim is to reduce my tablets and live in hope that I can stop taking them altogether.

I am wondering if the above figures are about right or do you think I should be getting better readings by now. And why my readings are so high first reading of the day ?
If any of you can offer any advice I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance

HSSS

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Afternoon

Recent newbie here after my wife @karenb1410 messaged asking for help and encouraged me to join the forum. After taking some advice I've drastically changed my diet and have already started to feel the benefits. More energy, better mood and even took part in my first 5k run.