Wannabe pumper.

Sibyl

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I think I’m ready to join the in crowd! Since I’m a very poor and restless sleeper I’m leaning towards tubeless. The omnipod seemed the answer but at a Diabetes event last night there were a number of pump reps and a tubed one caught my eye. Anyone had any experience of the Kaleido? It can be worn on the arm using a very short length of tubing and the device is rechargeable and actually slightly smaller than the omnipod. Advice?

therower

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
@Sibyl . Not sure about the Kaleido but I do know that @Kim Possible is an expert on pump types and suitability.
Hopefully she may be able to guide you.

Reactions: Sibyl

Sibyl

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @Sibyl I have been pumping for about 4 years and wish I had done it sooner.
My specific pump experience has been slightly different to most that are on offer now and I have not heard about the Kaleido.
However, I have experience of tubey and tubeless pumps.
What do you mean by the Kaleido can be worn on the arm? Any pump cannula (tubey or tubeless) can be inserted into the upper arm, provided you have enough fat there. Would you wear the Kaleido on the arm too or would you plan to stuff it into your bra, for example?
A short tube may sound like a great idea. Unless you need to get the pump out to give yourself a bolus (something else to consider when you are thinking about where to keep it) - then you may wish for a longer tube. Some pumps now have a remote control although these do not always have the full range of options that are available on the pump itself (e.g. I believe the Medtronic has a remote which allows manual bolus but does not include the bolus calculator which I use most of the time).