What sugar substitute works best for you...

K

Kat100

I made a lemon cake today, looks really nice ( made with Splenda ) my first attempt...with Splenda....
Oh my goodness it tasted awful, just did not work for my taste buds....could not digest the taste...
My oh tried really hard to eat some cake telling me it was ok...but we had to give in...

Going to try another cake at the weekend with either xylitiol or a half and half sugar with stevia
Hope the next cake taste better...

What do you find works best in your baking ......just interested....as I am still learning...

The garden birds won't even touch the crumbs I have put out :/ Kat x not a Splenda one .....

andcol

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
i made blueberry muffins from almonds a couple of weeks ago using splenda. Couldn't really tell if the splenda left a taste as I bought salted roasted almonds and not natural so the salt over powered everything. Bit of a disaster really so took them to work and made others eat them rofl.
I will try the muffins again this weekend and let you know how the splenda turns out.

Reactions: 2 people
K

Kat100

i made blueberry muffins from almonds a couple of weeks ago using splenda. Couldn't really tell if the splenda left a taste as I bought salted roasted almonds and not natural so the salt over powered everything. Bit of a disaster really so took them to work and made others eat them rofl.
I will try the muffins again this weekend and let you know how the splenda turns out.
Thank you, I will try again this weekend, but use something other than Splenda....seem to be testing them all...x
You give baking disasters to others to eat ;)

andcol

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Thank you, I will try again this weekend, but use something other than Splenda....seem to be testing them all...x
You give baking disasters to others to eat ;)