When should I take my lantus

Georgiagirl77

I'm new at all this but I have a question I am supposed to take my insulin at night but my sugar is good in the evening so can I take it in the am I take humalog also

Rokaab

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Lantus is supposed to last for 24 hours (its a long lasting insulin) - though some find it doesn't quite last so long. And since its a long lasting one as long as you take it at the same time everyday it should theoretically be fine - some take in the morning, some in the evening - if it doesn't last the full 24 hours for you it may make a difference as to what time you take it - ie you probably want to talk to your DN/consultant/doctor and discuss and if you do change from evening to morning they can help with sorting out the dosages for the day you switch over

Bill166

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, Lantus is very slow acting insulin intended to provide you with a background level of insulin to keep you ticking. The basal dose.

It takes hours to have any significant effect and lasts for days. So your bg level when you take it isn't important. And the time of day doesn't matter much as long you're consistent when you take it, so your background level of Lantus stays the same.

You need to check you're taking the right amount, but that's a discussion between you and your DSN.

Hope this was useful.

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
I'm new at all this but I have a question I am supposed to take my insulin at night but my sugar is good in the evening so can I take it in the am I take humalog also

As a new user you should always consult with your medical team before changing your insulin regime.