Woah - glucose testing is worth it

MimT

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I've been testing blood glucose for a couple of weeks, watching my diet to see what spikes. Measurements have ranged from 4.6 to 8.6 mmol/L at various times of the day, Things seemed to be going along well enough. Then today I thought I'd try a regular lunch of the type I used to have when I was too busy to bother. So I made a simple meal of a cheese and vegemite wholemeal sandwich and a banana.

The reading went from 5.8 mmol/L before the first bite to 10 mmol/L an hour and a quarter later. That's the highest reading I've had so far. After two hours it was down to 8.4 mmol/L, which was 2.6 above the pre-meal reading.

I realise every one of you would probably say I shouldn't have been surprised, given the high carb meal (albeit a small meal). Still, there's nothing quite like seeing it for myself. (I'm new to pre-diabetes.)

I can do without the bread easily enough - mostly. But I've got one banana left and I suppose that will have to be the last one I have for quite some time :(

jaywak

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cold weather, angry people, queues,
A banana is the most likely to be the culprit of the spike !

Reactions: jjraak and MimT

MimT

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
A banana is the most likely to be the culprit of the spike !
This sounds right, although I was thinking it's also the combination of bread and banana. I've had a banana on its own for a snack, and I've had a cheese sandwich on its own. Separately neither of them produced as big a spike.

It seems that time of day also has a bearing, though not so much with today's episode, which was unusual. Glucose has been more sensitive to carbs at breakfast time (for me), more than it is for the same food later in the day. Morning cereal is not good, but I've had it as an afternoon snack and it doesn't cause as big a rise in glucose.

KennyA

Staff Member