World Diabetes Day - raising awareness

4mum_

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Evening.

I'm 55 and diagnosed t1d in May with DKA so I'm a newbie.

I work in a secondary school which always raises awareness of issues of the world including homeless, LGBT, mental health, poverty etc. I'm thinking I could share knowledge of Diabetes in some way. I know there are only 2 students on pumps and myself on jabs.

We have 'news' on TV screens around the whole building, assemblies, website, email link to all the staff and as the Librarian I manage the school newspaper.

I'd love to hear any of your ideas to share with the students and what format you may suggest.
TIA.

Kentoldlady1

Type of diabetes
Type 2
What an absolutely fantastic idea. Does this site have an educational resource for schools? Perhaps ask a mod if they have any ideas about this?
Sorry I am not practical help, just wanted to say that I am impressed you are doing thisx

Reactions: 4mum_

Jo_the_boat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
There is increasingly stuff in the news about the bad effects of excess sugar and obesity. Kids see that message day on day so maybe you could gently raise the potential risk of diabetes on the back of that? Even 'subliminally'. When I was a youngster I was the type who hated to be 'told' anything, rather relying on things I discovered for myself. If you somehow manage to get the youngsters talking about it, the massage may begin to sink in.
Having said that it's the parents who perhaps need to be targeted more than the kids - it's they who buy the stuff after all.

Fairygodmother

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bigotry, reliance on unsupported 'facts', unkindness, unfairness.
Could you ask the pupils to supply images of food and drink and ask them to research the amount of sugar, carbohydrate and saturated fat in each to create a library display?

Fairygodmother

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes