Yet another newbie

Sarbak

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
All of the other things
Hi all - I've spent a few hours reading many forum posts and responses today and decided to join up and share my story so far - in case it's of any help to anyone else.

I've been obese or morbidly obese most of my life and was never particularly bothered by it - all the women on my mum's side of the family have been the same. I still had friends and relationships, had a successful career, didn't hate myself when I looked in the mirror, was able to get about and look after myself pretty easily, didn't have any weight related health problems, liked myself in most of my clothes and... well.... tolerated the look of myself nekkid lol.

Then 2020 arrived and I got an abscess..... in a place where you'd really rather not get an abscess. I went to my GP, got sent straight to hospital that day and had to have emergency surgery the following day under general anaesthetic. Following that, 4 weeks... yes, twenty eight days! of daily trips to the surgery or hospital for incredibly painful dressing changes.

After recovering from that and carrying on with life for a month or so, another abscess... not bad enough to need surgery, just antibiotics. Then another... and another and so on. By May, I was losing the plot and had a bit of a breakdown to the GP, who, despite Covid lockdown, got me in for a blood test. On May 11th I found out the reason for the abscesses - Type 2 diabetes (68) and the GP gave me a prescription for Metformin.