Jardiance

Boofey

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi there, I am new to this but is anyone taking jardiance medication and how are you finding it? My blood sugars are high at the moment which is why I have been prescribed them. Any advice welcome.

Oldvatr

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi there, I am new to this but is anyone taking jardiance medication and how are you finding it? My blood sugars are high at the moment which is why I have been prescribed them. Any advice welcome.
Please read the folowing article, which also applies to other drugs in the same family (SGLT-2 inhibitors). It also has an FDA advisory on it in USA, but has not been withdrawn from use. Other info I have found suggests that this drug is safer than its rleatives in terms of CVE and stroke, and may offer beneficial protection. please also be aware that one of the other relatives in this family has a warning about decreasing bone density leading to increased risk of fractures, but this may only apply to that drug (Canagliflozin)
https://www.gov.uk/drug-safety-upda...n-empagliflozin-risk-of-diabetic-ketoacidosis
Please make sure you have been advised about the symptoms and treatment for DKA.

Last edited by a moderator:

Liam1955

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Anti-Gay People, Self Centre People, Two Faced People and Bad Language.
@Boofey - Hello and Welcome to the Forum.:) I am taking Dapagliflozin which belongs to the same group (SGLT2 inhibitors).

Liam1955

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Anti-Gay People, Self Centre People, Two Faced People and Bad Language.