1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2021 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Jardiance

Discussion in 'Other Diabetic Medications' started by Boofey, Feb 22, 2016.

1. Boofey

Boofey Type 2 · Member

Hi there, I am new to this but is anyone taking jardiance medication and how are you finding it? My blood sugars are high at the moment which is why I have been prescribed them. Any advice welcome.

• Informative Informative x 1
  2. Oldvatr

Oldvatr Type 2 · Expert

Please read the folowing article, which also applies to other drugs in the same family (SGLT-2 inhibitors). It also has an FDA advisory on it in USA, but has not been withdrawn from use. Other info I have found suggests that this drug is safer than its rleatives in terms of CVE and stroke, and may offer beneficial protection. please also be aware that one of the other relatives in this family has a warning about decreasing bone density leading to increased risk of fractures, but this may only apply to that drug (Canagliflozin)
    https://www.gov.uk/drug-safety-upda...n-empagliflozin-risk-of-diabetic-ketoacidosis
    Please make sure you have been advised about the symptoms and treatment for DKA.

#2 Oldvatr, Feb 22, 2016 at 12:33 PM
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2016
  3. Liam1955

Liam1955 Type 2 · Master