Glucose meter

Nadia_ger

Hi Everyone,

My name is Nadia and I’m a biomedical engineering student.
I am part of a group assignment to develop a prospective product design. We need to design an innovative glucose meter. I would like feedback regarding what your ideal glucose meter would be like, aside from its essential accuracy. What design features would you like regarding size, shape, color, memory, simplicity, add-ons and any other ideas?
We have two weeks to come up with an idea and prepare an outline for our assignment. All suggestions and comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your help!

Oldvatr

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi Everyone,

My name is Nadia and I’m a biomedical engineering student.
I am part of a group assignment to develop a prospective product design. We need to design an innovative glucose meter. I would like feedback regarding what your ideal glucose meter would be like, aside from its essential accuracy. What design features would you like regarding size, shape, color, memory, simplicity, add-ons and any other ideas?
We have two weeks to come up with an idea and prepare an outline for our assignment. All suggestions and comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your help!
We need a better way of checking calibration. The current test solutions have such a wide range of possible values that they are really only useful for detecting faulty meters, but not ones that may be reading slightly high or low, if the test sample had a titrated value then this might help.

TomGreen101

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
The Accucheck Mobile is a very good BG meter.
50 tests on a cartridges so you don't have to Handel test strips. Attached finger pricker is great.
It has issues like hard to line up the test area with the blood sample but it is the best design in my opinion.

Reactions: 4 people

jrussell88

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin