Cocktails for diabetics

Keesha

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I am sure diabetics are allowed some alcoholic drinks while on vacation. Does anyone have any suggestion as to what cocktails to have when going to a bar for a drink? Something that will not send my blood sugar skyrocketing? Thank you.

Sent from my iPad using DCUK Forum

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I am no expert on cocktails. Red or dry white wine is fine, as are most spirits (not rum), but the mixers need to be sugar free - not the sweet fruity ones normally associated with cocktails.

Natalie1974

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
A G&T over ice with a really good squeeze of lime juice is my favourite...although not sure you can really call it a cocktail ;)

ChrisSamsDad

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
UKIP, royalty, football, gin, goat's cheese.
Cuba Libre - Rum with Diet Coke and a slice of lime is good.
Long Island Iced tea - again, with diet coke, there's a bit of sugar in the syrup, but like 5g or something.
I don't know if it has a name, but I drink it a lot - Sloe Gin and diet ginger ale.
Aperol Spritz, which is Aperol and Prosecco

SunnyExpat

Type of diabetes
Prefer not to say
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Cuba Libre - Rum with Diet Coke and a slice of lime is good.
Long Island Iced tea - again, with diet coke, there's a bit of sugar in the syrup, but like 5g or something.
I don't know if it has a name, but I drink it a lot - Sloe Gin and diet ginger ale.
Aperol Spritz, which is Aperol and Prosecco

Sloe gin can contain a lot of sugar.

Daiquiri, leave out the sugar though.
Dry Martini
Maybe a Manhattan, depending on how sweet the vermouth is.

The problem with cocktails is they all tend to have a sweet liqueur in, there aren't many without.

LittleGreyCat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Diet drinks - the artificial sweeteners taste vile.
Having to forswear foods I have loved all my life.