everway9

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Nothing springs to mind :)
Hi everyone.

I'm new to food portions and my first dietitian appointment is not until next week so I'm hoping you can help me. I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but I would like to know if the following is classed as a meal with which I need to take my fast acting insulin?

A slice of thick white bread with olive oil spread (Bertolli) and a thin layer of normal raspberry jam. And a banana. :)

Many thanks in advance.

Oh and I keep meaning to ask. I have been diagnosed with secondary diabetes. They say its not type 1 or 2 but still require insulin. I'm wanting to enter the type of diabetes i have on my profile but theres not an option for secondary diabetes. ??? Cheers :)

LittleGreyCat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Diet drinks - the artificial sweeteners taste vile.
Having to forswear foods I have loved all my life.
Trying to find low carb meals when eating out.
You need the insulin dependants to really answer that one, but I would guess that the amount of fast acting carbohydrate and sugar in that lot might need a little correction.

Are you on a specific diet which recommends that as a snack, or do we need to talk to you gently about carbohydrates and diabetes?:)

everway9

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Hello LittleGreyCat and thanks for your reply. :)

No I dont think you need to talk gently to me. I can take it :) I know it's not an ideal low carb serving but theres not much else in the house at the moment. Were going shopping tomorrow and we will be counting :)

No specific diet as yet but seeing the dietitian on Tuesday.

What is it you have on the plate in your profile picture. Looks good!

Kristin251

Expert
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Insulin dependant type 1 here. I would need quite a lot of insulin for everything in that meal other than the olive oil.