Are there any Australians here that can help me please?

slinkimalinki

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I was diagnosed with Type 2 early August, and my Endocrinologist decided I didn't need a monitor, and put me on Metformin.

However, I am so muddled with what I eat and how I feel, the only way that I can think of to see how I react to food is to test after meals.

Sooo, what blood glucose monitors are other Aussies using. I use a Windows phone so the Dario is out for me, but I would love something similar. And where do I buy it from? Urgh, total newbie here.

Help me, pleeeeeeeeese.

Silvia

walnut_face

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I was diagnosed with Type 2 early August, and my Endocrinologist decided I didn't need a monitor, and put me on Metformin.

However, I am so muddled with what I eat and how I feel, the only way that I can think of to see how I react to food is to test after meals.

Sooo, what blood glucose monitors are other Aussies using. I use a Windows phone so the Dario is out for me, but I would love something similar. And where do I buy it from? Urgh, total newbie here.

Help me, pleeeeeeeeese.

Silvia
Welcome Silvia, you are right to test after meals, it is the ONLY way to know how you react to a food. There are quite a few Australians here @Indy51 springs to mind. I will also ask @daisy1 to post some really useful info that applies to all of us

Reactions: Doriand
D

Deleted member 308541

Before you get a meter join the NDSS, do this as it free and you will get subsidised strip till the end of December as a T2. Your GP has to sign and stamp this form.

I hope you have a good relationship with your GP (Not the Endo) as you will need to get him to sign and stamp another form from the NDSS so you can continue to get the strips for $1.30.