hello from a newbie

pugster75

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi, I'm s total newbie, both to forums and to diabetes. I've just had a bit of a whirlwind 3 weeks. Unluckily 3 wks ago I managed to get a drawing pin in the sole of my shoe. Unbeknown to me until it was too late! I then had a very bad infected foot which doubled in size very quickly, I was put on antibiotics by my GP but they didn't work,I was sent to hospital for iv's and admitted, before I knew it I was facing surgery for a diabetic foot ulcer, this was the first I knew about being diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic, doctors said they suspect I have been for 2-3 yrs as sugar levels were so high and out of control. Everything is coming in line and I'm getting good numbers when I'm testing between 5-8. Just wondered if anyone has any advice or tips. I seem to be struggling with breakfast ideas and seem to be getting into a pattern of eating the same things, its getting a bit boring. I'm on metformin 1g breakfast and tea, glycoside 40 mg daily and stigapltyn daily. Thanks

Liam1955

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Anti-Gay People, Self Centre People, Two Faced People and Bad Language.

mo53

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
@pugster75 hello and welcome. @daisy1 will provide you with some excellent information. You've certainly had a tough time. I hope your foot has healed well now.

Freema

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
welcome pugster75 :)

fine you have gotten your numbers so much down, if you read Daisy1´s very good advice and links you´ll get so much new and valuable knowledge... so this is very fine information.
what a chocking way of learning to know one has diabetes... you must have been very scared too.