What am I doing wrong?

Rose88

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I’m new to LCFF and I’ve had 2 hypo’s recently. I’ve been on mixed insulin for about 18 months, I inject 30 units of humulin m3 before breakfast and the same before evening meal, this is regardless of what I’m going to eat. Last week I asked the DN that as I’m reducing the carbs should I reduce the dose, she replied no just continue with the same amount of insulin as this will bring down the hbA1c. I came out of the surgery very confused.

The other evening I injected 30u, ate steamed brocilli and green beans with a small portion of halloumi, I don’t know if there were any carbs in this meal, then went for a short walk. I felt good... until I got home then felt shaky and very disorientated, checked my blood glucose it was 3.8! :eek:

I wasn’t hungry but had a small pot of yogurt which was 14g carbs and 1 chocolate digestive biscuit to bring blood glucose up to 6, I know this wasn’t the best choice of food but I couldn’t think straight and didn’t know what to do. Did I need to eat at this point or would the blood glucose have settled by itself?

Should I have more carbs before I go for a walk or should I not have taken any insulin or something else?

I would love to come off the injections as I’ve never understood how this all works, I sometimes feel like not injecting at all but then I don’t know how this might affect the hbA1c?

Sorry for so many questions but I’m struggling to lose weight ... is it possible to lose weight whilst on insulin and how?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Hi @Rose88

I'm not a type 2, don't follow a LCHF diet and haven't used the insulin Humulin M3 before, but the insulin is a combination of short and intermediate-acting insulin as far as I'm aware.