Insulin Pen Query

Hi,

I'm currently studying Product Design at Nottingham University and have a brief that involves designing a product that aids the life of those with diabetes. I'm currently going down the route of an insulin pen re-design but I have a few questions that I have not been able to find the answers to online. I was hoping I could receive some help.

Firstly, I'm wondering why insulin pens are not smaller than they currently are, I've seen that the average length of a pen is around 150-170mm which is pretty big in my opinion. I was wondering if there was any particular limitation as to why this is so.

Secondly, how does the insulin dosage system work. Ive seen that the pens come in 150 and 300 unit cartridges. Is a cartridge used per day or does it usually last longer than that? Could it be an option to do a pen that is just 100ml in cartridge size for people going on nights out or is this too little?

Thirdly, how do you figure out exactly how many units of insulin you need throughout the day. I've attempted to look further into this and have found several mathematical formulas that aid with the calculation but still, surely this is a bit of a pain.

And finally, what do you take out with you on a day to day basis e.g. testing kit, pen ,etc. I am unsure whether you have to have a test kit and pen or you can just take out a pen.

Hopefully you understand my questions, and sorry if I have been a little vague, I still only have a very basic knowledge of this subject area. I'd be extremely appreciative of any feedback!

Thanks,
Josh Briggs

Last edited:

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other