Our 3 year old just been diagnosed

Carola2017

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hello, I would love a bit of advice from any mum who has any experience with type 1 diabetes with their children. Our 3 year old just been diagnosed and any help would be much appreciated.

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello, I would love a bit of advice from any mum who has any experience with type 1 diabetes with their children. Our 3 year old just been diagnosed and any help would be much appreciated.

Hi Carola - I'd tend to agree with @therower that your post might be seen by more parents in that forum area. If you just let me, or any other mod know, we can move it for you.

If you prefer it left here, that's absolutely fine too.

Reactions: Carola2017

Carola2017

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hello, yes please move it. I'm new to all of this and so shocked .... thank you very much for your help!

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I think @Garymurday87 has a very young boy recently diagnosed with with type 1, he may be able to share some experiences.

"Think like a pancreas" is a well recommended book covering the basics of what you need to know to manage type 1. I think @noblehead may also know of a similar book for type 1 in children.

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello, yes please move it. I'm new to all of this and so shocked .... thank you very much for your help!

No problem. I'll do that now, having been away from my keyboard for a while.

CathP

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Carola,

I'm so sorry to hear of your little ones diagnosis. It's a massive shock, and 3 years old is so tiny too. Bless them. My little girl was diagnosed nearly 2 years ago at 4 years old. It's a huge learning curve, but it's doable and as a family you all adjust to the new 'normal'.
xx

Garymurday87