Any advice on travelling to India with insulin?

Bertyboy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi,

I was diagnosed a couple of weeks ago, and I've just been asked by my VP to travel to Bangalore next month to work with some new contractors. As I am completely new to T1 diabetes, what do I need to organise?
Can I take my FlexPens on the plane with me?
Do I need to be concerned about finding dietary alternatives to rice, rotis etc? (when I've been to India in the past, it's been very carb-heavy!)
What is the process for buying any kit I might lose (pens, strips, lancets etc.)?

Thanks in advance.

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Can I take my FlexPens on the plane with me?

Yes. You certainly can't put them in the hold as frozen insulin dies. So should be taken as hand luggage.

I've never been to India, but provided you are carb counting and you familiarise yourself with carb content of likely meals/sundries then just continue carb counting and adjusting your insulin dose accordingly.

There's a useful Jdrf guide to travelling with type 1 - https://jdrf.org.uk/information-support/living-with-type-1-diabetes/everyday-life/travelling/

Reactions: Bertyboy

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
@Bertyboy - India is fine. I've been many times for both work and leisure. One thing I would caution, is Delhi Belly. It happens to most westerners after a number of days in the country, so I'd make sure you are prepared to nip down to the local pharmacy when you are there and get the over the counter antibiotics that they offer.

Otherwise, @catapillar's comments are valid. Just be aware of rough carb counts on everything, remember to take plenty of glucose tablets and adjust your insulin. And it's also okay to run a bit high if you aren't confident about balancing everything during the short period you are there.

Fairygodmother

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes