Travelling the world with T1 Diabetes

meg7024

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello!

I have been travelling the world now for 2 years and counting.

Since then my HBA1C results have gone from 13 to 6.8 aka dangerous to perfect!

I’m not saying travelling is the cure of course but the regular walking, restricted diet, sunshine and less stress has played a huge role.

I am currently writing a blog on my experiences. If anyone is interested please have a look (feel free to enter your email so new posts go straight to your inbox) it is completely free of charge.

A few of my friends are diabetic and they have told me they wouldn’t consider travelling purely due to diabetes which is crazy! Why let it control you?!

Welcome to ask any questions too :)

Here’s the link:

www.aroundtheworldwitht1diabetes.wordpress.com

paulus1

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
im not jealous. but you will need to get old one day. wrinkles will come and kids. o the aches of an old person the joys of stress incontinence all a wait you. again im not jealous. enjoy it whilst you can.:grumpy::grumpy::grumpy::pompous::spitoutdummy::spitoutdummy::spitoutdummy:

ExtremelyW0rried

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I don't travel abroad due to my diabetes. I find it causes me huge stress - starting in airport security. Usually my sugars are in the 20s or above by the time we get to the plane even if I've started at a normal level. Then I find the heat and different food and routine just causes me one problem after another and I spend the whole time waiting to go home as I'm worried I might die!
Can't cope with it. If it wasn't for the airport security I might feel differently but it just causes such high anxiety that it really isn't worth it.

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies, Liars, Trolls and dishonest cruel people
Hello!

I have been travelling the world now for 2 years and counting.