Insulin Straight From The Fridge???

Libby3781

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I’m new to insulin, only been taking in for two weeks!

Tonight my current pen has jammed, and has not released the air bubble.

Therefore, I’ve started a new pen....can I administer the insulin straight from the fridge????

Thanks all in advance

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Yes, don't worry. You might feel a little bit of sting because it's cold, but nothing worse than that.

Reactions: Libby3781

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Oh, and don't worry about air bubbles , they'll just stay in the pen!
If an air shot doesn't squirt insulin, first try a new needle. With a new pen, it might take a couple of air shots before insulin comes out. Once it does, you should be fine to use it.

Reactions: Libby3781

Libby3781

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Thank you

This is the first time I’ve been in this position regarding the insulin. Being so new to it, I’ve need some reassurance xxx

Reactions: kitedoc

SandraRich

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi, yes it’s fine to inject from the fridge. I’ve not done it often, but it does sting a bit. I hate the bubbles too. I can never get rid of them and they tend to stay there till the pen is finished, doesn’t matter how much I flick it it never Goes!!

LooperCat

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
Flicking won’t get rid of a bubble, because the needle pokes into the reservoir a fair way. So if you can’t get it out with flicking and air shots, it won’t come out at all. But even if it doesn’t, we do subcutaneous injections, so a little bubble won’t hurt at all. It’s only if it’s into the heart or brain that it might possibly cause an issue, an my needles aren’t that long ;)

S

Sani Thomas