Pump On Holiday

Toriroge

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi guys , I'm off on honeymoon next Sunday and just wanted some pump users advice

This will be my first holiday with a pump on and I like to spend the day in the pool I know the pump sets don't stay on for long in the water any advice to keep it on for longer?
Or do people go back to injecting in the day so can be swimming as much as they want to ?

And advice would be great thank you x

D

Deleted Account

What type of pump do you use?
I have a tubey pump which I disconnect when in the pool and just reconnect for a top up basal (plus bolus when eating) every 30 or 60 minutes.
I have not experienced any problems with the set coming away in the water but I don’t spend long enough in the pool to go (even more) wrinkly.
I guess you could fasten down your set with tape if you are concerned.

I have no experience of a tubeless pump such as a Omnipod. Hopefully someone with such experience will join in the conversation.

I know some people take pump holidays when they are away.
I have never done this on a trip but had an enforced pump break when my pump broke recently. I did not enjoy those days without an ability to adjust my basal throughout the day or give myself corrections less than one unit whilst doing additional calculations working out my insulin on board, different insulin sensitivities and insulin to carb ratios at different times of the day (I know some meters can do this) and questioning whether the dose I remembered was correct.
This was followed by a couple of hypoey days when I returned to the pump.
It may be less stressful for you.

Scott-C

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Not a pumper myself, @Toriroge , but something which gets mentioned from time to time is the "untethered regime" so might be worth doing a search in the forum for that.

It seems to be a mix and match of some lantus/basal and pump.